Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel heads the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist.

The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year published in 2014 are:

The Girl With All The Gifts – M.R. Carey (Orbit).
The Book Of Strange New Things – Michel Faber (Canongate).
Europe In Autumn – Dave Hutchinson (Solaris).
Memory Of Water – Emmi Itäranta (HarperVoyager).
The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August – Claire North (Orbit).
Station Eleven – Emily St John Mandel (Picador).

The 6 short-listed titles were selected from a list of 107 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 36 different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter said, “This is a quintessentially Clarke Award kind of a short-list of exactly the sort that we’ve become known for over the years and always love to celebrate. Congratulations to all of our short-listed authors, their publishing teams and, of course, a big thank you to everyone on our judging panel this year. We’ve got six authors who have never been nominated for the Clarke Award before and while the subject matter may often be dark, when we think about what this list says about the strength of science fiction literature itself, I see a future that’s full of confidence, creativity and diversity of imagination.”

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel heads the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist.
Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel heads the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist.

Addressing recent issues around diversity and the overt politicising of genre awards, he added, “Diversity in science fiction is the big topic right now, and rightly so, and the Clarke Award is as much a part of that conversation as any other award. Diversity for us means starting with as broad a range of voices and books as possible so we can pick a short-list that we think really is the best of science fiction literature. Awards should stimulate debate. Their choices should provoke a response, and that often means strong debate will be generated as a result, but an award actively seeking controversy is really missing the point and that goes double for any group seeking to artificially create controversy around an award for its own ends. In other words, it’s not a battle of competing ideologies – left versus right – it’s a simpler matter of constructive versus destructive attitudes. A good short-list isn’t a statement about what you should like, it’s an invitation to go beyond the limits of what you already know so you can experience and enjoy something new. Why limit an appreciation of a literature that’s built on the power of human imagination?”

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 6th May 2015 at an exclusive award ceremony held at Foyles Bookshop, London, and taking place as part of the activities leading up to the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2015.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.