Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley makes BSFA shortlist.

The British Science Fiction Association has announced its shortlist for its annual BSFA Awards for works first published in 2013.

Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley makes BSFA shortlist.
Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley makes BSFA shortlist.

Best Novel

God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Del Rey)

Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie (Orbit)

Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley (Gollancz)

Ack-Ack Macaque by Gareth L. Powell (Solaris)

The Adjacent by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)

Best Short Fiction

Spin by Nina Allan (TTA Press)

“Selkie Stories are for Losers” by Sofia Samata (Strange Horizons)

“Saga’s Children” by E. J. Swift (The Lowest Heaven, Pandemonium)

“Boat in the Shadows Crossing” by Tori Truslow (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

Best Artwork

Cover for Tony Ballantyne’s Dream London by Joey Hi-fi (Solaris)

Poster for Metropolis by Kevin Tong (tragicsunshine.com)

“The Angel at the Heart of the Rain” by Richard Wagner (Interzone #246)

Best Non-Fiction

Wonderbook by Jeff VanderMeer (Abrams Image)

“Going Forth by Night” by John J. Johnston (Unearthed, Jurassic)

“Sleeps with Monsters” by Liz Bourke (Tor.com)

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Satellite4 Eastercon convention the Crown Plaza Hotel, Glasgow Sunday 20th April 2014. BSFA Prize-winners will receive a coveted BSFA trophy. Also in the ceremony will be the annual James White Award announcing its short story competition winner.

BSFA Chair, Donna Scott said, “This year’s shortlist shows just what a strong year it has been for science fiction, and it’s brilliant to see some exciting new names make the shortlist. Last year there was some controversy, particularly concerning the book shortlists, that it looked very white and middle-aged. But this is a growing genre and new voices – different voices – are rising to the fore all the time. No shortage of women on the shortlists for fiction this time, but I do wonder if we will see better representation on the art award shortlists in future years.

“Some surprise names that didn’t quite make the shortlist include previous Clarke Award winner, Lauren Beukes, and Man Booker shortlist nominee Ruth Ozeki.”

The BSFA has been running the awards since 1970, awarding the first Best Novel award to John Brunner’s 1969 novel Stand on Zanzibar. The Awards draw on nominations from their membership, and in the case of the Best Novel Award are open to UK publications only.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.