Shortlist for British Science Fiction Association 2018’s titles lands.

The British Science Fiction Association has released the shortlist for their BSFA Awards for works published in 2018.

The awards will be presented on Saturday 20th April 2019 at Ytterbium, the 70th Eastercon, which this year is taking place at The Park Inn Heathrow, London, from 19-22nd April 2019. The host for the ceremony will be Jeannette Ng.

The shortlisted works are:

Best Novel

  • Dave Hutchinson – Europe at Dawn (Solaris).
  • Yoon Ha Lee – Revenant Gun (Solaris).
  • Emma Newman – Before Mars (Ace Books).
  • Gareth L Powell – Embers of War (Titan Books).
  • Tade Thompson – Rosewater (Orbit).

Best Shorter Fiction

  • Nina Allan – The Gift of Angels: an Introduction (Clarkesworld).
  • Malcolm Devlin – The Purpose of the Dodo is to be Extinct (Interzone #275).
  • Hal Duncan – The Land of Somewhere Safe (NewCon Press).
  • Ian McDonald – Time Was (
  • Martha Wells – Exit Strategy (
  • Liz Williams – Phosphorus (NewCon Press).
  • Marian Womack – Kingfisher (Lost Objects, Luna Press).

Best Non-Fiction

  • Nina Allan – Time Pieces column 2018 articles (Interzone).
  • Ruth EJ Booth – Noise and Sparks column 2018 articles (Shoreline of Infinity).
  • Liz Bourke – Sleeps With Monsters column 2018 articles (
  • Aliette de Bodard – On motherhood and erasure: people-shaped holes, hollow characters and the illusion of impossible adventures (Intellectus Speculativus blog).
  • Adam Roberts – Publishing the Science Fiction Canon: The Case of Scientific Romance (Cambridge University Press).

Best Artwork

  • Ben Baldwin – wraparound cover for ‘Strange Tales’ slipcase set (NewCon Press).
  • Joey Hi-Fi – cover for ‘Paris Adrift’ by EJ Swift (Solaris).
  • Sarah Anne Langton – cover for ‘Unholy Land’ by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications).
  • Sing Yun Lee and Morris Wild – artwork for ‘Sublime Cognition’ conference (London Science Fiction Research Community).
  • Likhain – In the Vanishers’ Palace: Dragon I and II (Inprnt).
  • Bede Rogerson – cover for ‘Concrete Faery’ by Elizabeth Priest (Luna Press).
  • Del Samatar – artwork for ‘Monster Portraits’ by Sofia and Del Samatar (Rose Metal Press).
  • Charlotte Stroomer – cover for ‘Rosewater’ by Tade Thompson (Orbit).

Advance voting is open to BSFA members and Eastercon members until Monday 15th April, online at, or by post (see Votes will also be accepted in person at Eastercon until noon on Saturday 20th April.

Shortlist for British Science Fiction Association 2018's titles lands.
Shortlist for British Science Fiction Association 2018’s titles lands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.