2017 Atorox awards.

August 16, 2017 | By | Reply More

Worldcon 75 has announced the winners of the 2017 Atorox and First Fandom awards, as well as recognising three non-Japanese winners of the 2017 Seiun awards.

The Atorox is the oldest science fiction and fantasy award in Finland, given to the best short story published over the previous year in Finnish or Swedish. It was named in homage to early Finnish science fiction writer Aarne Haapakoski.

The winner of the 2017 Atorox Award is Maiju Ihalainen, of Tampere, previously a winner in 2015.

The 2017 Big Heart Award winner is Carolina Gómez Lagerlöf of Sweden. First Fandom’s 2017 Hall of Fame inductees are life-long pair Les and Es Cole. Writer Jim Harmon is First Fandom’s Posthumous Hall of Fame inductee for 2017. The Sam Moskowitz Archive Award for Excellence in Collecting has been presented to author Jon D. Swartz for his library of magazines and books,

American author Ken Liu, 2017 Seiun winner for Best Translated Story, was also recognized at Worldcon 75 for “Simulacrum”, published in Hayakawa Shobo 12/16.


Category: Awards, Scifi

About the Author ()

Colonel Frog is a long time science fiction and fantasy fan. He loves reading novels in the field, and he also enjoys watching movies (as well as reading lots of other genre books).

Leave a Reply