Retro Hugos see Wonder Woman, Bradbury and Little Prince, honoured in Dublin.

Antoine de St-Exupéry’s The Little Prince, comic book superheroine Wonder Woman, and Ray Bradbury’s short story “R is for “Rocket” were among the works and people honoured at the retrospective Hugo Awards for works created in 1943. The awards were presented at the opening ceremony of Dublin 2019 – the Irish Worldcon, aka the 77th World Science Fiction Convention.

The Best Novel winner was Fritz Leiber’s Conjure Wife. Films Heaven Can Wait and Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman also won Retro Hugos, along with Forrest J Ackerman, the Los Angeles-based editor of monster magazines whose house was a private museum of science fiction. Members of the convention cast a total of 834 votes for the Retro Hugos, all online except for eight paper ballots.

1944 Retrospective Hugo Awards

Best Novel.

  • Conjure Wife, by Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds, April 1943).

Best Novella.

  • The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock).

Best Novelette.

  • “Mimsy Were the Borogoves,” by Lewis Padgett (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction, February 1943).

Best Short Story.

  • “King of the Gray Spaces” (“R is for Rocket”), by Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries, December 1943).

Best Graphic Story.

  • “Wonder Woman #5: Battle for Womanhood,” written by William Moulton Marsden, art by Harry G. Peter (DC Comics) .

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form.

  • Heaven Can Wait, written by Samson Raphaelson, directed by Ernst Lubitsch (20th Century Fox).

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.

  • Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman, written by Curt Siodmak, directed by Roy William Neill (Universal Pictures).

Best Professional Editor, Short Form.

  • John W. Campbell.

Best Professional Artist.

  • Virgil Finlay.

Best Fanzine.

  • Le Zombie, editor Wilson “Bob” Tucker.

Best Fan Writer.

  • Forrest J Ackerman.

The Hugo Awards were first presented at the 1953 World Science Fiction Convention in Philadelphia (Philcon II). This year’s Hugo Awards will be presented on Sunday 18th August at the Dublin convention.


Colonel Frog is a long time science fiction and fantasy fan. He loves reading novels in the field, and he also enjoys watching movies (as well as reading lots of other genre books).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.