33rd Arthur C. Clarke Awards won by Tade Thompson’s Rosewater.

July 17, 2019 | By | Reply More

Rosewater by Tade Thompson (published by Orbit) is the 33rd winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK prize for science fiction literature. Thompson – a psychiatrist by trade – was born in London to Yoruba parents and he grew up in Nigeria.

Rosewater explores life in Nigeria after a successful alien invasion’s changed our world, and has been described as African cyberpunk.

Dr Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, told SFcrowsnest, “Alien invasion is always a political subject, and Tade Thompson’s debut novel Rosewater expertly explores the nature of the alien, global power structures and pervasive technologies with a winning combination of science fictional invention, gritty plotting and sly wit. I would like to pay tribute to our judges for this year, it was an incredibly close but good-natured argument over which novel would triumph.”

The winner was announced on the evening of Wednesday 17th July at a ceremony held at the Foyles flagship bookshop on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans.

Tade Thompson receives a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend and prize money of £2019.00.

33rd Arthur C. Clarke Awards won by Tade Thompson's Rosewater.

33rd Arthur C. Clarke Awards won by Tade Thompson’s Rosewater.

Tags: ,

Category: Awards, Scifi

About the Author ()

Colonel Frog is a long time science fiction and fantasy fan. He loves reading novels in the field, and he also enjoys watching movies (as well as reading lots of other genre books).

Leave a Reply