The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize Shortlist 2014

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere but Here, Anywhen but Now First Novel Prize


Sir Terry Pratchett and Transworld Publishers launched a new award for aspiring debut novelists, in June last year. The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now Prize. Since the deadline for submissions on the 31st December 2012, the team have spent many hours reading, reporting and discussing over 500 entries that were submitted for the £20,000 advance publishing contract.

 The shortlist are, in surname order:

The Unspoken Death of the Amazing Flying Boy by Jean Burdett

Bloodline by Sophie Constable

The Hive by Alexander Maskill

The Way Through the Woods by Robin Pearson

A Kill in the Morning by Graeme Shimmin

The Shadows of Annwn by Catherine Whittle

The six shortlisted books cover a breadth of topics and sub genres, imagination and alternate worlds. Each shortlisted entry was chosen for their skilful writing, vast imaginative powers and ability to tell a good story!

The winner will be judged by Sir Terry Pratchett,Rob Wilkins, Alex Veasey from Forbidden Planet, Simon Taylor, Editorial Director at Transworld Publishers andLynsey Dalladay Sir Terry Pratchett’s Publicist. The winner will be announced on the 31st May 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.