Hugo Award Winners for 2022 announced (book news).

On Sunday, September 4th, 2022, at Chicon 8, the 80th World Science Fiction Convention, the winners of the 2022 Hugo Awards, Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and Astounding Award for Best New Writer were revealed. Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders served as the ceremony’s hosts.

The Hugo Awards, which recognise science fiction literature, media, and fans, have been honouring notables in science fiction and fantasy for over 70 years. They were originally given out at the 1953 World Science Fiction Convention in Philadelphia (Philcon II).

A Desolation Called Peace
A Desolation Called Peace

Best Novel
A Desolation Called Peace, by Arkady Martine (Tor).

Best Novella
A Psalm for the Wild-Built, by Becky Chambers (Tordotcom).

Best Novelette
“Bots of the Lost Ark”, by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, Jun 2021).

Best Short Story
“Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather”, by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny Magazine, Mar/Apr 2021).

Best Series
Wayward Children, by Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom).

Best Graphic Story or Comic
Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC).

Best Related Work
Never Say You Can’t Survive, by Charlie Jane Anders (Tordotcom).

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
Dune, screenplay by Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, and Eric Roth; directed by Denis Villeneuve; based on the novel Dune by Frank Herbert (Warner Bros / Legendary Entertainment).

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
The Expanse: Nemesis Games, written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck, and Naren Shankar; directed by Breck Eisner (Amazon Studios).

Best Editor, Short Form
Neil Clarke.

Best Editor, Long Form
Ruoxi Chen.

Best Professional Artist
Rovina Cai.

Best Semiprozine
Uncanny Magazine, publishers and editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas; managing/poetry editor Chimedum Ohaegbu; nonfiction editor Elsa Sjunneson; podcast producers Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky.

Best Fanzine
Small Gods, Lee Moyer (Icon) and Seanan McGuire (Story).

Best Fancast
Our Opinions Are Correct, presented by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders, produced by Veronica Simonetti.

Best Fan Writer
Cora Buhlert.

Best Fan Artist
Lee Moyer.

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book
The Last Graduate, by Naomi Novik (Del Rey Books).

Astounding Award for Best New Writer
Shelley Parker-Chan.


Colonel Frog is a long time science fiction and fantasy fan. He loves reading novels in the field, and he also enjoys watching movies (as well as reading lots of other genre books).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.