2017 Canopus Award finalists.

April 12, 2017 | By | Reply More

100 Year Starship has named the finalists in the 2016-17 Canopus Award for Excellence in Interstellar Writing.

An independent body, 100YSS was started in 2012 with seed-funding through a DARPA grant to foster the innovation, technology and social advances needed for human interstellar travel beyond our solar system.

Winners will be announced at the 100YSS Nexus on Saturday, August 12th 2017 in Los Angeles.

 Award category finalists are …

 “Previously Published Long-Form Fiction” (40,000 words or more):

·         The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers (Harper Voyager).

·         Dark Orbit by Carolyn Ives Gilman (Tor).

·         Seveneves by Neal Stephenson (HarperCollins).

·         The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu, Translated by Ken Liu (Tor).

·         Arkwright by Allen Steele (Tor) .

 “Previously Published Short-Form Fiction” (between 1,000 and 40,000 words):

·         “Slow Bullets” by Alastair Reynolds (Tachyon Publications).

·         “The Long Vigil” by Rhett C. Bruno (Perihelion).

·         “The Citadel of Weeping Pearls” by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s Science Fiction).

·         “Wavefronts of History and Memory” by David D. Levine (Analog Science Fiction and Fact).

·         “The Four Thousand, The Eight Hundred” by Greg Egan (Subterranean Press).

·         “Whom He May Devour” by Alex Shvartsman (Nautilus).

·         “Love and Relativity” by Stewart C. Baker (Flash Fiction Online).

 “Previously Published Nonfiction” (between 1,000 and 40,000 words):

·         “A Terrestrial Planet Candidate in a Temperate Orbit Around Proxima” by Guillem Anglada-Escude, et al. (Nature).

·         “A Science Critique of Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson” by Stephen Baxter, James Benford, and Joseph Miller (Centauri Dreams).

·         Welcome to Mars: Making a Home on the Red Planet by Buzz Aldrin and Marianne Dyson (National Geographic).

·         “Let’s All Go to Mars” by John Lanchester (London Review of Books).

·         “Our Worldship Broke!” by Jim Beall (Baen Books).

 Original Fiction” (1,000-5,000 words):

·         “The Quest for New Cydonia” by Russell Hemmell.

·         “Luminosity” by Adeene Denton.

·         “Mission” by Yoshifumi Kakiuchi.

·         “Envoy” by K. G. Jewell.

·         “Sleeping Westward” by Lorraine Schein.

Original Non-Fiction” (1,000-5,000 words):

·         “Motivatingly Plausible Ways to Reach the Stars” by James Blodgett.

·          “Microbots—The Seeds of Interstellar Civilization” by Robert Buckalew.

·         “An Anthropic Program for the Long-Term Survival of Humankind” by Roberto Paura.

·         “Terraforming Planets, Geoengineering Earth” by James Fleming.

 Original College Writing” (1,000-5,000 words):

·         “A Kingdom of Ends” by Ryan Burgess.

·         “Ethics in Space” by Greg Becker.

 For more information about award criteria, visit http://canopus.100yss.org


Category: Awards, Books

About the Author ()

Colonel Frog is a long time science fiction and fantasy fan. He loves reading novels in the field, and he also enjoys watching movies (as well as reading lots of other genre books).

Leave a Reply