2016 Hugo Award: MidAmeriCon II spins a googly.

The 2016 Hugo Award winners were announced at a ceremony held at MidAmeriCon II (aka the 74th World Science Fiction Convention) on Saturday August 20th, 2016 in Kansas City, Missouri. The ceremony was hosted by Pat Cadigan.

Best Novel: The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit).
Best Novella: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com).
Best Novelette: “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang, translated by Ken Liu (Uncanny Magazine, Jan-Feb 2015).
Best Short Story: “Cat Pictures Please” by Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld, January 2015).
Best Related Work: No Award.
Best Graphic Story: The Sandman: Overture written by Neil Gaiman, art by J.H. Williams III (Vertigo).
Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): The Martian screenplay by Drew Goddard, directed by Ridley Scott (Scott Free Productions; Kinberg Genre; TSG Entertainment; 20th Century Fox).
Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile” written by Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg, and Jamie King, directed by Michael Rymer (Marvel Television; ABC Studios; Tall Girls Productions; Netflix).
Best Editor – Short Form: Ellen Datlow.
Best Editor – Long Form: Sheila E. Gilbert.
Best Professional Artist: Abigail Larson.
Best Semiprozine: Uncanny Magazine edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky.
Best Fanzine: File 770 edited by Mike Glyer.
Best Fancast: No Award.
Best Fan Writer: Mike Glyer.
Best Fan Artist: Steve Stiles.
The John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2014 or 2015, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award): Andy Weir.

In addition, the Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award was presented to Edie Stern and Joe Siclari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.